Banner 8

HKECIA 2017-2018 Chairman's Report

 

The Hong Kong Exhibition & Convention Industry Association (HKECIA), first incorporated in May 1990, is celebrating its 28th Anniversary. The Association currently has over one hundred members, making it a truly representative voice for the exhibition and convention industry. Our commitment over the years has been to act as a unified voice that represents and promotes the industry and increases awareness of the contribution the industry has made to our wider society, as well as to support members in areas such as professional development, business networking and information exchange.          

One of the important tasks of the Association is that of conducting the annual exhibition survey, a valuable tool that is widely used by members, the government, the media, the business sector and the wider community to understand trends and developments in the exhibition industry. By benchmarking the survey findings with similar surveys conducted by other Asian cities, we are able to obtain a valuable ‘big picture’ of where Hong Kong stands in the region.

In 2017, a total of 135 exhibitions (over 2,000 sqm) were held in Hong Kong. The exhibition survey for 2017 shows that the Hong Kong exhibition industry remains steady in terms of the number of trade and trade & consumer exhibitions, despite fierce competition from new facilities in the region. Key indicators, including the number of exhibiting companies and the number of visitors, show a particularly encouraging sign with double-digit growth, both from international markets and Mainland China. Over 72,000 exhibiting companies and more than 2.4 million visitors participated in the trade exhibitions and trade & consumer exhibitions in Hong Kong last year. The final report will be available in the next few weeks. I would like to thank the Communications Sub-Committee for making this important survey possible, along with all those of our members who contributed data.

Sub-Committee Reports

China Sub-Committee

Over the past 12 months, the HKECIA continued to maintain close relationships with exhibition organisations in different Mainland cities. Delegations from Mainland organisations were welcomed from Ministry of Commerce of PRC (MOFCOM), Guangzhou, Hangzhou, Huizhou and Jiangmen. Representatives from the China Sub-Committee also participated in a number of major exhibition events in Mainland China, including forums in Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Dongguan, Macao, Guiyang and Shanghai.

Also, the China Sub-Committee follows closely venue development in China with much interest, especially the progress of the new Convention & Exhibition Centre in Shenzhen.

Communications Sub-Committee

The Communications Sub-Committee continued to manage the Annual Exhibition Survey 2017, while at the same time maintaining a busy schedule of day to day activities. The Communications Sub-Committee has also provided the Association with regular valuable support in areas such as the handling of media releases, chairman’s speeches and presentations. The Sub-Committee also handled press interview line-ups at which the Association’s position on the provision of additional exhibition space mentioned in the Policy Address was expressed.

Education and Training Sub-Committee

In June 2017, the Education and Training Sub-Committee organised the HKECIA Conference held alongside with the 27th Annual Dinner at Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, under the theme of “Success, Sustainability and the Future”. Organisers of successful exhibitions shared their past experience and how their events are likely to evolve in the future. Other covered hot topics included a case study on Hong Kong Rugby Union in greening their events; updates of the new venue in Shenzhen and a look back 20 years at the completion of HKCEC’s first extension. Over 120 members and guests have participated at the conference.

In December 2017, the Sub-Committee organised the HKECIA Annual Seminar covering key issues such as the development plan of West Kowloon Cultural District, 2018 economic outlook as well as the latest trends on event technology. The Seminar was well received and was attended by over 130 members and guests.

In summer 2017, upon request of the School of Professional Education and Executive Development of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University, the Sub-Committee has assisted to review and give feedback on their new proposed programme.

Exhibition Operations Sub-Committee

Exhibition Operations Sub-Committee

The Operations Sub-Committee has two main objectives – upgrading work safety at Hong Kong events and reducing the environmental impact of events.

Work Safety

Key challenges are very large shows, large and high stands, limited move-in/out times, and many hundreds of workers, a high percentage of whom are sub-contracted by individual contracting companies.

The Sub-committee continued to promote safe working practices including safe “working at height” which is the number one cause of serious accidents on site. In the past year there has been much meaningful dialogue and improved links with the Hong Kong Exhibition Services Association (HKESA); HKESA represents a high proportion of the stand contractors, sub-contractors and suppliers regularly working on Hong Kong events, so this engagement is important if the Association is to improve safe working standards across the local industry.  

The Sub-committee strongly encourages all responsible decision-makers; organisers, exhibitors and contractors to reduce stand building heights for both safety and environmental reasons and to utilise lighter materials and components (reusing as much as possible) such as fabric and frames, which can be built much more safely.

Environmental Impact

Hong Kong’s landfills are almost full. This is a fact.

The Government has announced plans for a municipal solid waste charging scheme which is still being debated.

Everyone in the event industry needs to think carefully about the waste generated by each event, from printed promotional material to custom-made wooden exhibition stands, which end up in a landfill. The industry needs to acknowledge that despite the financial benefits to Hong Kong, exhibitions are a very wasteful business and change is needed.

Meanwhile the Canton Fair has recently introduced a “green booth” policy, whereby wooden structures are limited to 30% of the total stand area. Rather than have Guangzhou setting environmental standards and guidelines, the Hong Kong exhibition and events industry should be demonstrating their leadership position in the region.

Membership Sub-Committee

The Membership Sub-Committee continued to work on creating networking opportunities for members and supporting Association events such as the annual dinner, seminars and cocktails.

As of today, the Association has 64 full members, 30 associate members and 9 overseas members, making a total of 103 members.

New members in 2017-2018 included Comasia Ltd, Messe Duesseldorf China Ltd, GES, Creative Ideas Global (Exhibits) Ltd, FMC Exhibition Company Limited, EventXtra Limited, IVE Hotel, Service and Tourism Studies discipline. Members who are joining this year (2018-2019) include Global Produce Events GmbH, Eurovet Asia Limited, Top-Trans Expo Logistics (HK) Ltd, Bailey Communications HK Limited and Worldwide Cruise Terminals (Hong Kong) Limited. We welcome these new members to the HKECIA family.

In June 2017, the Sub-Committee organised the HKECIA Conference and the 27th Annual Dinner. The dinner was attended by over 320 members and guests including senior government officials, local consulates and close working partners. Mr Stanley Chu from Adsale Exhibition Services was awarded the HKECIA Lifetime Achievement Award for his dedication and contribution to the Hong Kong exhibition industry throughout many years and all participants had an enjoyable night networking with the peers.

In December 2017, the Sub-Committee organised the HKECIA Annual Seminar cum Christmas Cocktail in Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel for the first time with over 130 members and guests in attendance. At this event, the HKECIA had to the privileges to host a delegation of 30 industry professionals from the Indonesia Exhibition Companies Association (IECA). A MoU between HKECIA and IECA had been signed to mark the start of much closer relations between the exhibition industries in our respective territories.

The Association would like to thank all sponsors for their support in the past year.

The Membership Sub-Committee will continue to explore and create networking opportunities and enhance membership benefits.

Venue Development Sub-Committee

The development of Hong Kong’s venues and the need to address the rising unmet demand has been at the top of our agenda since the government commissioned a study in 2014 which found that the average unmet demand for conventions and exhibitions per day at peak months in Hong Kong would rise to 132,000 sqm by 2028.

In September 2017, shortly after the new government was formed, the Chairman and Honorary Life-President were invited to meet Mr Edward Yau, the Secretary for Commerce & Economic Development. During the discussion, the Association’s representatives were able to put forward the Association’s agenda for tackling this important issue of venue development and press the case for actions to be taken.

In October 2017, following the announcement of the 2017 Chief Executive’s Policy Address, HKECIA issued a press release to welcome the government’s proposal to demolish and redevelop the three government buildings in Wan Chai to build a new convention and exhibition venue that would be connected to and integrated with the existing HKCEC. The HKECIA also re-stated its position in supporting the development of other existing exhibition and convention venues including the readily-available exhibition and convention site adjacent to the AsiaWorld-Expo.

In July of last year, the Chairman and two of our Executive Committee (ExCo) representatives also met with the HKTDC and CEDB for an overview of the proposed new convention centre atop the Exhibition MTR Station in Wan Chai. Representatives from CEDB and HKTDC also came and addressed the full ExCo at a meeting in April of this year to update the members on their progress and received operational feedback on the new facility. The Architectural Services Department is continuing to work on the plans and more details are expected later this year.

In August, the Chairman had a meeting with Mr Duncan Pescod, CEO of West Kowloon Cultural District Authority (WKCDA) about the development plan of WKCD and invited him to speak at the HKECIA Annual Seminar in Dec 2017, which he accepted.

In April 2018 over 30 HKECIA Members joined a briefing session WKCD projects which focussed particularly on art, commerce and exhibitions (ACE Development). ACE will be located at the western end of the District, comprising an exhibition centre (18,000sqm) with a hotel, offices and embedded retail/ dining/ entertainment facilities within the site.

AFECA Sub-Committee

The Asian Federation of Exhibition and Convention Associations (AFECA) is a leading association for the Asian exhibition and meeting market. The federation has now 130 MICE association members and corporate members in 18 cities or countries in Asia.

HKECIA became a board member of AFECA in 2016.

In 2017, two Hong Kong student teams from the School of Hotel of Tourism Management of Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) and Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education (IVE) were supported by the HKECIA to participate in the AFECA Asia MICE Youth Challenge held in Kaohsiung (Taiwan) to compete with other 12 teams from Asia. This event is a platform for future Asian MICE talents to outwit other participants by presenting their unique and creative MICE event ideas. The Hong Kong teams brought home with 3 awards, including Overall “Second Runner Up” “Most Knowledgeable Award” and “Special Recognition”.

A highlight of AFECA’s annual activities is the AFECA Awards. The AFECA Awards is an annual regional event to celebrate and acknowledge excellence in the exhibition and convention industry. In 2017, two HKECIA members have won distinctive recognition and awards. Milton Exhibits Group won first place in “Outstanding Service Awards”. Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre won first place in “Outstanding Venue Awards”.

The HKECIA will continue to take part in these regionals events to promote Hong Kong as a trade fair capital of Asia, and to help our members build strong network with other Asian Counterparts.


Trade Promotion, Communication & Networking Activities

The Association has been actively involved in a number of valuable activities over the year, and I would like to mention some of the most significant ones here.

-          In June 2017, HKECIA and HKESA organised the first Friendly Football Match on 7 June to celebrate the Global Exhibitions Day and HKECIA team won the match.

-          In June 2017, the association welcomed a delegation led by the Ministry of Commerce of PRC (MOFCOM). During the meeting, representatives from the HKECIA and MOFCOM had meaningful exchanges about the C&E industry in Hong Kong and in China.

-          In September 2017, HKECIA Operations Sub-Com and HKESA had a meeting to discuss about health & safety issues of working on site, and ways to promote the efficiency of operations during move-in and move-out.

-          In October 2017, a delegation of 22 members from HKECIA attended the 22nd Macao International Trade and Investment Fair (MIF) in Macao.

-          In November 2017, the Chairman delivered a speech at a business luncheon held during UFI Congress in Johannesburg to promote Hong Kong as the Trade Fair Capital of Asia. There were over 400 participants at this Congress.

-          In December 2017, the Chairman and several HKECIA ExCo members received a delegation from the HongKong and Macao Affairs Office of Guangzhou Municipal Government and the Sun Yat-sen University and exchanged views on the convention and exhibition industry in Hong Kong and in Guangdong

-          In January 2018, the HKECIA Golf Day at Sai Kung, Kau Sai Chau was held successfully, with participants enjoying a fun day of sports and networking.

-          In January 2018, HKECIA Members participated at the 14th edition of China Expo Forum for International Cooperation (CEFCO) in Qingdao.

-          In March 2018, Chairman and HKECIA members joined the UFI APAC Conference held in Malaysia.

-          In April 2018, around 20 HKECIA members had joined the Hangzhou-Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Industry Cooperation Forum organised in Hong Kong by the Hangzhou Municipal Government.

-          In May 2018, Vice Chairman of HKECIA participated in the Open Seminar organised by the Indian Exhibition Industry Association (IEIA) in Hyderabad, India to exchange and to network with other key industry players.

 

Working together for the benefit of all

Hong Kong continues to enjoy a leading position in the region as Asia’s Trade Fair capital. The data from the latest annual exhibition survey supports the view that we are currently operating in a favourable economic environment. Most business leaders are in agreement with this view that 2018 will, on balance, turn out to be a pretty good year.

However let this not be a time where we as an industry rest on our laurels, I am of the opinion that now is the time for us to come together in preparation for the challenges which we know we will face in the following months and years.

The Hong Kong convention and exhibition industry is on the precipice of change. Those of us who know well what is coming must plan our strategy with this new future in mind. The Greater Bay Area is a huge opportunity and we must work hard with our government and mainland partners to ensure that Hong Kong’s role as a key MICE hub is well understood and recognised. Failure to make plans and build partnerships now, in order that we are in a position to benefit in the future, could prove all too costly in the future. The environmental responsibility of our industry is another important issue that needs to be solved. The sustainability of our industry can only strengthen if we are prepared to change and clean up our act to the satisfaction of all our stakeholders. The lack of available event space continues to hold us back, but we will continue to work with the government and the private industry to look for solutions both in the short and long term.

In the many years that I have involved with the HKECIA, I have always found that we have far more in common with our colleagues from other companies than we have differences. We share many of the same challenges and it is only through collaboration that truly meaningful solutions can be found that benefit our industry as a whole.

At its very best, the Association acts in the same way as a family. its role is to help, protect and nurture, in order that we can all benefit and prosper together for the good of our employees and shareholders and for the good of Hong Kong. I would like to thank all of the members for the part that they play in contributing to our various committees. For those who are in a position to contribute more to help solve these shared issues, I encourage them to reach out to give us ideas and feedback.

Thank you for your support and I wish you all a healthy and prosperous year ahead.

 

Stuart Bailey

Chairman (2018)

GED16

香港展覽會議業協會 - 2017-2018年會長報告

 

香港展覽會議業協會創立於1990年5月,今年慶祝28周年。本會現有100多個會員,是真正代表香港展覽及會議業界意見的組織。多年來我們一直為業界發聲,致力宣揚展覽及會議業,讓業界對社會的貢獻更廣為人知。此外,我們亦在專業發展、業務聯系、訊息交流等方面為會員提供支援。

本會的一項重要任務是進行展覽業年度調查。無論是本會會員、政府、媒體、商界,以至社會大眾,這項調查都是了解本港展覽業趨勢和發展的重要途徑。若將調查結果與亞洲其他城市類似調查的結果相比,我們可以對香港展覽業在區內的地位有一個更全面的了解。

2017年,總共有135個租用面積逾2,000平方米的展覽在香港舉辦。年內的展覽業調查顯示,就商貿展覽和商貿及消費展覽數目而言,雖然區內新落成的展覽設施帶來激烈競爭,香港展覽業仍保持平穩。各項主要指標,包括來自國際市場和中國內地的參展商數目和訪客數目,均錄得令人鼓舞的雙位數增長。去年在香港舉行的商貿展覽和商貿及消費展覽,共吸引72,000多家參展商和超過240萬名訪客的參與。調查報告將於未來幾個星期公布。對負責籌備這項重要調查的傳訊事務小組,以及曾為調查提供數據的所有會員,在此我謹衷心致謝。

小組工作報告

中國事務小組

過去12個月,本會與內地多個城市的展覽業組織繼續保持緊密聯繫。我們接待了來自商務部、廣州、杭州、惠州及江門的內地組織代表。中國事務小組代表亦參與了多個內地主要展覽業活動,包括在廣州、深圳、東莞、澳門、桂陽和上海舉辦的大型論壇。

此外,中國事務小組亦密切跟進內地展覽場地的發展,特別是深圳新會議展覽中心的進度。

傳訊事務小組

傳訊事務小組在處理日常繁忙工作之餘,亦繼續負責「香港展覽業年度調查2017」的工作。小組亦經常為本會提供各種支援,包括處理新聞發布和準備會長的演辭和演示等。小組亦就施政報告提出增加展覽場地安排媒體採訪本會的立場。


教育及培訓事務小組

2017年6月,協會於香港會議展覽中心舉行27周年晚宴,教育及培訓事務小組於同日以「成功、可持續發展、未來」為題,舉辦「香港展覽會議業協會會議」。會議上,成功展覽活動的主辦機構相繼暢談他們的經驗,並預測他們的展覽將來會如何演變。其他熱門話題包括香港欖球總會如何令其賽事符合環保要求的個案分析、深圳新會展中心的最新進展、香港會展中心第一期擴展工程20年回顧等。出席會議的會員和嘉賓超過120位。

2017年12月,小組舉辦「香港展覽會議業協會周年研討會」,討論的議題包括西九文化區發展規劃、2018經濟展望、展會科技的最新發展等。研討會吸引了130多位會員及嘉賓,深獲好評。

同年夏天,小組應香港理工大學專業進修學院邀請,協助評審該學院的擬議課程並提供意見。

展覽營運事務小組

展覽營運事務小組有兩個主要目標:提升本港展會活動的工業安全,以及減低活動對環境的影響。

工業安全

業界面對的主要難題,包括大型展覽、特大特高的展覽攤位、有限的進場和離場時間,以及數以百計的工作人員,當中大部分是由個別承辦公司分判的。小組繼續推廣各種安全作業,特別是安全高空作業,因為高空工作是導致嚴重事故的首要原因。年內,小組與「香港展覽業服務聯盟」保持有意義的溝通並加強聯繫。香港展覽業服務聯盟代表大部分經常承接香港展會活動的展攤承辦商、分判商和供應商,因此,如果本會要在本港業內改善安全作業標準,與它們合作是必要的。

為安全及環保考慮,小組大力鼓勵所有相關的決策者、主辦機構、參展商及承辦商減低攤位的高度,並採用並盡量重用較輕的物料和組件,例如布料和框架等,令攤位的搭建更加安全。

環境影響

香港的堆填區快將飽和,這是不爭之實。

政府公布過的都市固體廢物收費計劃現仍在辯論階段。

業內每一個人都要清楚考慮每項活動所產生的廢物,因為無論是推廣用的印刷品或訂製的展覽攤位,最後都會送到堆填區。業界亦應承認,雖然展覽為香港帶來可觀的經濟收益,辦展涉及大量浪費,現狀必需改變。

與此同時,廣交會近日引入了「綠色展位」政策,把木製結構限制在總展位面積的30%以內。與其讓廣州制定環保標準和指引,香港的展覽及會議業實應顯示其在區內的領導地位。

會員事務小組

會員事務小組繼續為會員製造各種交流機會,並協助籌辦協會的周年晚宴、研討會、酒會。

迄今為止,本會擁有64個正式會員、30個附屬會員、9個海外會員,會員總數達103。

2017-2018年度的新會員包括康亞有限公司、杜塞爾多夫展覽(中國)有限公司、GES展覽服務公司、創思環球會展服務有限公司、恒揚展覽策劃有限公司、EventXtra有限公司、香港專業教育學院酒店、服務及旅遊學科。今年(2018-2019)加入的會員計有全球產品會展有限公司、歐羅維特亞洲有限公司、高銳(香港)國際物流有限公司、貝莉展覽(香港)有限公司、環美郵輪碼頭(香港)有限公司。我們歡迎這些新會員加入本會行列。

2017年6月,會員事務小組組織了香港展覽會議業協會會議和第27屆周年晚宴。出席晚宴的有320多名會員,而嘉賓則包括高級政府官員、多位駐港領事、密切的工作夥伴等。席間,雅式展覽服務有限公司的朱裕倫先生獲頒授「香港展覽會議業協會終身成就獎」,表揚他多年內對本港展覽業不遺餘力的貢獻。當晚所有出席者均得與同業在觥籌交錯中暢快交流。

2017年12月,小組首次在香港迪士尼酒店籌辦本會的年度研討會暨聖誕聯誼酒會,與會的有130多位會員和嘉賓。活動中,本會很榮幸邀請到印尼展覽公司協會(IECA)代表團的30名業界專業人士出席。為標誌著兩地展覽業此後有更緊密的交往,本會與印尼展覽公司協會簽訂了備忘錄。

本會謹此向所有贊助單位致意,感謝他們過去一年的支持。

小組將會繼續探討和營造各種交流機會,並為會員謀求福利。


場地發展事務小組

政府2014年委託進行的一項研究指出,到2028年,在旺季月份,香港未能滿足的會議展覽場地需求平均每日達132,000平方米。本港的場地發展和應對未能滿足的需求,一直是本會的首要事項。

2017年9月,新一屆特區政府成立不久,本會會長和永遠名譽主席獲邀與商務及經濟發展局(商經局)局長邱騰華會晤。會談期間,本會兩位代表提出本會對處理場地發展這個重要議題的基本想法,並指出有需要採取迫切行動。

2017年10月,,本會發出新聞稿回應行政長官施政報告,表示贊同政府提出把灣仔三幢政府大樓拆卸,改建為與現有會展中心連接及融合的新會議展覽場地。本會亦重申其立場,支持發展其他現有會議及展覽設施,包括在亞洲國際博覽館毗鄰的現成地段。

去年7月,本會會長及兩位執委會成員亦與香港貿易發展局(貿發局)及商經局會面,聽取擬於港鐵會展站上蓋興建的新會議中心概況。商經局及貿發局代表亦於今年4月到訪本會,向本會全體執委介紹該新會議中心的進展,並聽取有關營運該新設施的意見。建築署現正忙於有關規劃工作,預料今年稍後日子將會透露更多詳情。

同年8月,本會會長與西九文化區管理局行政總裁栢志高先生見面,了解西九文化區的發展計劃,並邀請栢志高先生於2017年12月在本會年度研討會中擔任其中一位嘉賓講者。

2018年4月,超30名協會會員出席了西九文化區項目一個以藝術、商業及展覽發展(ACE發展組合)為主題的項目簡介會。ACE發展組合位於西九文化區西面,連同酒店及出租辦公室的展覽中心(約18,000平方米)將附設零售、餐飲及消閒設施。

AFECA事務小組

「亞洲展覽會議協會聯盟」(AFECA)是亞州展覽及會議市場的重要組織。聯盟現擁有來自亞洲18個城市或國家的130個會議、展覽及獎勵旅遊業(MICE)協會會員及公司會員。

本會於2016年成為聯盟的理事會成員。

2017年,在本會的支持下,分別來自香港理工大學酒店及旅遊管理學院和香港專業教育學院的兩隊學生,到台灣高雄參加「AFECA亞洲會展青年挑戰賽」,與來自亞洲其他地方的12隊競賽。在這項賽事中,亞洲未來的MICE人才,要與其他參賽者競相提出最獨特和最具創意的MICE活動構思。兩隊香港隊共贏得三個獎項,包括總體季軍、知識最豐富獎和特別認許獎。

AFECA年度活動的重頭戲是「AFECA大獎」。該大獎是一項年度區內活動,目的是表揚及認許展覽會議業的優秀表現。2017年,本會有兩個會員榮獲特別認許及獎項:名唐展覽獲得「出色服務獎」第一名,而香港會議展覽中心則贏得「出色場地獎」冠軍。

為推廣香港作為亞洲商貿展之都的形象,並幫助會員與其他亞洲同業建立強大的網絡,本會將會繼續參與這類地區活動。

商貿推廣、宣傳及聯誼活動

年內,本會積極參與多項饒有意義的活動,其中較為重要的包括:

-          2017年6月7日,為慶祝「全球展覽日」,本會與香港展覽業服務聯盟進行第一屆友誼足球賽,該場比賽由本會代表隊勝出。

-          於2017年6月接待來自國家商務部的代表團。會面中,本會與商務部的代表,就香港和內地的會議展覽業進行了有意義的交流。

-          2017年9月,本會的營運事務小組與香港展覽業服務聯盟舉行會議,探討展覽現場工作的健康及安全問題,以及如何提升進場與離場時的作業效率。

-          2017年10月,本會代表團一行22人前赴澳門,出席第22屆澳門國際貿易投資展覽會。

-          2017年11月,在南非約翰尼斯堡舉行的國際展覽業協會大會中,本會會長在商務午餐會中宣傳香港作為亞洲商貿之都的優勢。出席這次大會的代表超過400名。

-          2017年12月,會長與多位執委會成員接待由廣州市政府港澳事務辦公室與中山大學組成的代表團,雙方就香港和廣東的會議展覽業交流了意見。

-          2018年1月,「香港展覽會議協會高爾夫球日」在西貢滘西洲圓滿舉辦,參加者均享受了一天的運動和聯誼樂趣。

-          2018年1月,本會會員參加了在青島舉行的第14屆中國會展經濟國際合作論壇。

-          2018年3月,本會會長和多位會員參加了在馬來西亞舉行的國際展覽業協會亞太區會議。

-          2018年4月,約20名會員參與由杭州市政府在香港舉辦的交流會。

-          2018年5月,本會副會長出席由印度展覽業協會在印度海德拉巴市舉辦的公開研討會,與其他主要業內人士交流聯誼。

為業界利益齊心盡力

香港以亞洲商貿展覽之都的聲譽,繼續穩固其區內領導地位,而最新的展覽業年度調查的數據更顯示,目前的經濟環境對業界甚為有利。大部分商界領袖亦同意,2018年總體而言將會是不錯的年份。

但這絕不是業界安於現狀的時候,我認為我們現在應團結一致,為在未來歲月已知必會遇上的問題預早為計。

香港的會議展覽業現正面臨變化的轉折時期,我們必須就未來的新形勢規劃對策。大灣區發展是一個巨大機遇,我們必須與香港政府和內地的合作夥伴一起努力,務求各方都深切了解和認同香港作為主要MICE樞紐的作用。如果現在未能制定相關規劃,建立夥伴關係,日後勢必要承受沉重的代價。業界的環保責任也是另一個必需解決的重要難題。只有我們接受改變,減低行業對環境的影響,令所有持份者滿意,業界的可持續發展才得以鞏固。活動場地的缺乏仍在阻礙業界的發展,但我們會繼續與政府及私營企業一起,尋求短期和長期的解決之道。

多年來一直參與協會事務的過程中,我發覺來自不同公司的同業間,共通點畢竟比分歧多。我們面對很多相同的難題,而只有通過合作,才能找出真正管用的解決方法,為整個行業帶來利益。

理想的協會像一個家庭,起著幫助、保護和培育成員的作用,從而令整個行業蓬勃發展,造福我們的員工和股東,也讓全香港受益。我要向所有會員致謝,感謝他們透過各個事務小組付出的貢獻。如果你們覺得有能力幫助解決上述的共同困難,請隨時向我們提供想法和反饋。

多謝你們的支持,謹祝各位來年身體健康,生意興隆!

香港展覽會議業協會會長(
2018
李劍彬(Stuart Bailey