Banner 11

Report sees Economic Benefits of Hong Kong’s Exhibition Industry Climb to HK$35.8 billion in 2010 (Up 18.6% from 2008)

 

(Released on 15 November 2011) The latest in a series of biennial Economic Impact Study reports on Hong Kong’s exhibition industry released today shows that activities associated with Hong Kong’s exhibition industry contributed HK$35.8 billion (US$4.6 billion) to the local economy in 2010, equivalent to 2.1% of Hong Kong’s total GDP, while generating the equivalent of 69,150 full-time jobs. Compared with findings in the previous report, which covered 2008, all the indicators moved upwards showing positive compound annual growth rates (CAGR).

The report, commissioned by the Hong Kong Exhibition and Convention Industry Association (HKECIA), revealed that the exhibition industry continues to bring significant benefits to Hong Kong’s economy not only by contributing substantial expenditure effects, but also by providing thousands of jobs for the exhibition industry and other service industries and supporting sectors, including hotel, food and beverage, retail, stand design and construction, and logistics and freight forwarding.

The report attributes the strong growth of the past two years to the continued high level of global sourcing activities for products from Mainland China and other Asian countries. At the same time, businesses from around the world are increasingly looking to use Hong Kong’s exhibition platform to introduce their products to the growing markets in Mainland China and other Asian markets. This is a situation that, according to the report, is likely to continue and will provide the city with ongoing exhibition growth opportunities.

Mr Daniel Cheung, Chairman of the HKECIA, backed the report’s assessment, noting clear signs that the world’s centre of economic gravity is continuing to shift eastwards. Identifying local drivers for the growth shown by the study, he noted, “This increasing business activity has come about due to the addition of new exhibitions, growth of recurrent shows at the two venues AsiaWorld-Expo and the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC), as well as increased exhibition space arising from the expansion of the HKCEC in 2009.”

The report gives precise estimates of various economic benefits arising from the exhibition industry, but also mentions the many important intangible benefits generated by the exhibition industry. These benefits are less easy to measure but are nevertheless very real. By way ofcomment, Mr Cheung said, “Exhibitions are important factors in raising Hong Kong’sinternational status. Currently, Hong Kong hosts five of the world’s largest trade exhibitions and seven of Asia’s largest trade exhibitions. Record-breaking events like this reinforce and publicize Hong Kong’s profile as a reliable, successful and dynamic place to do business of any kind, creating a momentum which keeps Hong Kong high in global public awareness as an ideal business location.”

Mr Cheung continued, “The report confirms that the exhibition industry is a driving force behind Hong Kong’s economic strength. Exhibition activities are key to the development of import and export opportunities, and are also essential marketing platforms by which our SMEs can make international business contacts without the expense of travelling overseas.”

Reflecting on the overall implications of the report, Mr Cheung commented, “While we are pleased with the findings of this carefully researched and objective report, we need to be mindful of ongoing competition from the region. To take full advantage of market trends, Hong Kong’s exhibition industry must remain proactive and continue to invest so that our facilities remain second to none, and our service standards unmatchable.”

 

KEY FINDINGS OF THE ECONOMIC IMPACT STUDY 2010:

Economic impact of Hong Kong’s exhibition industry in 2010 and 2008

Area

Benefits (2010)

Benefits (2008)

Compound Annual

Growth Rate (CAGR)

Expenditure effects

HK$ 35.80 b

(US$ 4.6 b)

HK$ 30.20 b

(US$ 3.9 b)

8.9%

Fiscal impact

HK$ 1.1 b

(US$ 141 m)

HK$ 920 m

(US$ 118 m)

10.7%

Employment

69,150 FTE

6,000 FTE

6.5%

 

Expenditure effects continue to grow because of increasing exhibition activity

Hong Kong’s exhibition industry contributed expenditure effects of around HK$35.8 billion

(US$4.6 billion) to the Hong Kong economy in 2010, up by 18.6% from 2008, representing a CAGR of 8.9%. This was equivalent to 2.1% of GDP, up from 1.8% in 2008.

-       Direct, indirect and induced expenditure represent 50%, 30% and 20% of total expenditure respectively.

-     Direct expenditure, which covers expenditure specifically on exhibitions and exhibition-related activities, amounted to HK$17.9 billion (US$2.3 billion). 55% was visitor expenditure contributed by international and local exhibition visitors, and the remaining 45% was business expenditure generated by exhibition organizers and exhibitors.

-       Expenditure by exhibition visitors amounted to HK$9.8 billion (US$1.3 billion) in 2010. It was spilt 90:10 between international and domestic visitors respectively.

-      The food and beverage (F&B), retail and hotel sectors were the largest recipients of direct visitor expenditure, accounting for more than 74%, or HK$7.3 billion (US$936 million), in 2010.

-       Business-related expenditure amounted to HK$8.1 billion (US$1.04 billion) in 2010, representing a CAGR of 22% from 2008.

 

Fiscal impact grows with increased visitor and business spending

The tax take enjoyed by the Hong Kong Government in 2010 as a result of exhibition activities is estimated at around HK$1.1 billion (US$141 million), based on the total expenditure effects of HK$35.8 billion (US$4.6 billion). This represents an impressive CAGR of 10.7%.Fiscal benefit is derived from three taxes:

-       Profits tax: HK$650 million (US$83.3 million)

-       Salaries tax: HK$418 million (US$53.6 million)

-       Airport tax: HK$59 million (US$7.6 million)

 

Equivalent of 69,150 full time jobs provided by the exhibition industry

Full-Time Equivalent (FTE) employment amounted to around 69,150 in 2010, representing a CAGR of 6.5%, up from 61,000 in 2008.

-       Around 2,650 FTE employees, or 4%, were directly employed by venues and exhibition organizers.

-      The remaining 96%, or 66,500 FTE jobs, was provided across various supporting sectors. Of this group, around 61%, or 41,000 FTE jobs, was directly involved in hotel, retail, and F&B, while the remaining 39%, or 25,500 FTE jobs, and was spread across other sectors such as stand construction, advertising, freight and logistics.

 

International exhibition visitors and exhibitors contributed more than overnight tourists

The report showed that international exhibition visitors spent on average 67% more than overnight tourists while international exhibitors’ spending was on average 30% higher than that of overnight tourists.

-       International exhibition visitors and international exhibitors spent on average HK$11,219 (US$1,438) and HK$8,819 (US$1,131) per visit respectively, compared to HK$6,728 (US$863) per visit by overnight tourists.

 

Notes to editors:

About the Economic Impact Study 2010

Carried out by professional services firm KPMG Transaction Advisory Services Limited, the 2010 Economic Impact Study report is the fourth in a series of biennial reports commissioned by HKECIA that began by covering the year 2004.

The Study was funded by AsiaWorld-Expo, the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the Hong Kong Tourism Board and the Hong Kong Trade Development Council. These organizations provided KPMG with information for analysis. The Study used the standard methodology common to the analysis of exhibition industries in other economies, and widely recognized internationally.

 

Five of world’s largest trade exhibitions held in Hong Kong (based on 2011 edition):

-       World’s biggest event focusing purely on commercial aviation – Asian Aerospace International Expo and Congress (a biennial event), organized by Reed Exhibitions

-       World’s biggest electronics event HKTDC Hong Kong Electronics Fair (Autumn Edition), organized by Hong Kong Trade Development Council

-       World’s biggest gifts event HKTDC Hong Kong Gifts & Premium Fair, organized by Hong Kong Trade Development Council

-       World’s biggest timepiece event HKTDC Hong Kong Watch and Clock Fair, organized by Hong Kong Trade Development Council

-       World’s No.1 jewelry event September Hong Kong Jewelry & Gem Fair, organized by UBM Asia

 

Seven of Asia’s largest trade exhibitions held in Hong Kong (based on 2011 edition):

-       World’s second largest and Asia’s largest beauty event Cosmoprof Asia, organized by UBM Asia

-       Asia’s biggest fashion event HKTDC Hong Kong Fashion Week for Fall/Winter, organized by Hong Kong Trade Development Council

-       Asia’s biggest homeware event HKTDC Hong Kong Houseware Fair, organized by Hong Kong Trade Development Council

-       Asia’s biggest entertainment event – HKTDC Hong Kong International Film & TV Market (FILMART), organized by Hong Kong Trade Development Council

-       Asia’s biggest licensing show HKTDC Hong Kong International Licensing Show, organized by Hong Kong Trade Development Council

-       Asia’s biggest toy event HKTDC Hong Kong Toys & Games Fair, organized by Hong Kong Trade Development Council

-       Asia’s biggest wine event – HKTDC Hong Kong Wine & Spirits Fair, organized by Hong Kong Trade Development Council

 

About the Hong Kong Exhibition and Convention Industry Association

The Hong Kong Exhibition and Convention Industry Association (HKECIA) was established in 1990 to promote Hong Kong as a world-class exhibition and conference destination and the trade fair capital of Asia Pacific. It works to represent the interests of all members involved in the exhibition and convention industries, and provides a unified voice in dealing with the government, legislative and statutory bodies, the media and public organizations, on all matters associate with the role of the exhibition and convention industry in Hong Kong’s economy. In addition, it offers training and educational programs, and collects, analyses and distributes information and statistics relating to the industry. Currently, HKECIA has members including exhibition organizers, venue managers and operators, contractors, hotels, and travel agents. HKECIA is a member of UFI, and Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce.

 

HKECIA Secretariat and Association Manager can be contacted at:

Hong Kong Exhibition & Convention Industry Association

Gloucester Road PO Box 28346, Hong Kong

Tel: (852) 2558 1238  |  Fax : (852) 2558 3074 

E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Website: www.exhibitions.org.hk

GED16

最新研究报告指出 2010 年香港展览业经济效益攀升至 358亿港元 (较2008年增加18.6%)

 发布日​​- 20111115日)香港展览会议业协会﹝简称「协会」﹞今天公布的研究报告显示,展览业于2010年为香港本土经济带来358亿港元(46亿美元)进帐,相等于香港本土生产总值2.1%,同时制造了相等于69,150个全职职位。与2008年同一份报告的结果相比,以复合年增长率(CAGR)计算,所有的指标均告上升,进一步肯定展览业对香港经济的贡献。

这项由香港展览会议业协会委托进行的研究显示,展览业继续为香港经济带来可观的经济效益,不单带来可观的进帐,并为展览业和其他服务及支援行业,包括酒店、饮食、零售、展览摊位设计及搭建、物流及货运行业创造了数以万计的职位。

报告认为,展览业过去两年的强劲增长,受惠于全球对中国内地和其他亚洲国家产品持续的高需求。同时,越来越多世界各地的企业,希望利用香港的展览作为平台,向消费力日益增大的中国内地市场推广产品​​。根据报告,这个情况将会持续,继续为香港展览业的发展和增长提供商机。

香港展览会议业协会会长张伟雄先生同意报告的意见,认为有明确的迹象显示全球经济活动的焦点继续东移。就报告所指驱动增长的因素,他表示:「展览活动持续增长的原因包括两个展览设施─亚洲国际博览馆和香港会议展览中心─吸引到新展览、经常性展览亦得以扩充,以及香港会议展览中心于2009年扩建后提供了额外展览场地。」

报告对展览业带来的各项经济效益作出精确的估计,并提出很多展览业带来的重要无形效益。虽然这些效益较难量化,但绝对是不容忽视的。张先生评论说:「展览活动能有效地提升香港的国际地位。目前在香港举办的多个展览中,其中五个是全球最大型的贸易展览,另外七个属亚洲最大规模。这类空前规模的展览会,足以加强和推广香港作为一个可靠、成功和有利营商的城市的形象,也有助维持香港在全球人士心目中理想商贸地点的当然首选。」

张先生继续说:「报告证实展览业是香港经济力量背后的推动力。展览活动对进口和出口业的发展至为关键,同时获公认是交换一手市场讯息和趋势的最有效市场推广工具,让本港的中小企无需远赴海外,就可以与来自世界各地的商业伙伴互动交流并紧密联系,亦可广建人脉,促进商贸交易,拓展全球的商务连系。」

张先生指出:「协会固然欢迎这份详尽和客观报告的结果,但同时我们必须对区内的竞争保持警觉。要充分利用市场趋势,香港的展览业必须采取主动、继续投资,令我们的设施和服务水准持续傲视同侪,巩固『亚洲展览之都』的领导地位。」

 

2010年展览业对香港经济的整体贡献研究报告的主要调查结果:

香港展览业于2008年及2010年对香港的经济贡献:

范畴

2010年收益

2008年收益

复合年增长

消费开支

358亿港元

46亿美元

302亿港元

39亿美元

8.9%

政府税收

11亿港元

1亿4,100万美元

9亿2,000万港元

1亿1,800万美元

10.7%

就业机会

相等于69,150个全职职位

等于61,000个全职职位

6.5%

 

展览活动增加为香港带来持续增长的消费开支

2010年香港展览业为香港整体经济贡献358亿港元(46亿美元)的消费开支,较2008年上升18.6%,复合年增长8.9%。这项进帐相等于本地生产总值的2.1%,较2008年的1.8%为高​​

• 直接、间接和连带开支分别占总消费开支的50%、30%和20%。

• 直接开支指展览和展览有关活动的具体开支,共达179亿港元(23亿美元)。其中55%属海外和本地访客的个人开支,余下的45%则属主办机构和参展商的商务相关开支。

• 2010年展览访客个人开支带来的进账达98亿港元(13亿美元)。海外与本地访客份额的比例为90:10。

• 饮食、零售和酒店业是直接访客个人开支的最大受惠行业,共占访客直接开支的74%,即73亿港元(9亿3,600万美元)。

• 2010年与商务有关的开支达81亿港元(10亿4,000万美元),较2008年复合年增长22%。

 

访客和商务消费增长带来香港特区政府税收上升

2010年香港政府从展览活动所得的税收,以总开支358亿港元(46亿美元)计,估计约为11亿港元(1亿4,100万美元),复合年增长高达10.7%。

税收进账来自以下三个税项:

• 利得税:6亿5,000万港元(8,330万美元)

• 薪俸税:4亿1,800万港元(5,360万美元)

• 机场税:5,900万港元(760万美元)

 

展览业为相关及支援行业提供69,150个全职职位

2010年展览业为本港提供了约相等于69,150个全职职位,与2008年的61,000个比较,复合年增长达6.5%。

• 约相等于2,650个全职职位雇员,或4%,直接由展览场馆或展览会主办机构雇用。

• 其余的96%,即相等于66,500个全职职位来自各支援行业。当中约61%或相等于41,000个全职职位受聘于酒店、零售和饮食业;余下的39%或相等于25,500个全职职位分布于展览摊位搭建、广告、货运和物流业。

海外访客和参展商对香港经济贡献较一般过夜旅客大

报告显示展览会海外访客的消费,比一般过夜旅客的消费平均高出67%,而海外参展商的平均消费亦较一般过夜旅客高出30%。

• 展览会海外访客和海外参展商每次来港的消费,分别为11,219港元(1,438美元)和8,819港元(1,131美元),而一般过夜旅客每次在港的消费仅为6,728港元(863美元) 。

 

在香港举办的五个全球最大型贸易展(以2011年计)

全球最大商用及民用航空展– 亚洲国际航空展览会暨论坛(每两年举行) (由励展博览集团举办)

全球最大电子展– 香港贸发局香港秋季电子产品展(由香港贸易发展局举办)

全球最大礼品展– 香港贸发局香港礼品及赠品展(由香港贸易发展局举办)

全球最大钟表展– 香港贸发局香港钟表展(由香港贸易发展局举办)

全球最大型珠宝展– 九月香港珠宝首饰展览会(由亚洲博闻举办)

在香港举办的七个亚洲最大型贸易展(以2011年计)

全球第二及亚洲最大型美容展– 亚太区美容展(由亚洲博闻举办)

亚洲最大时装展– 香港贸发局香港时装节秋冬系列(由香港贸易发展局举办)

亚洲最大家庭用品展– 香港贸发局香港家庭用品展(由香港贸易发展局举办)

亚洲最大影视展– 香港贸发局香港国际影视展(由香港贸易发展局举办)

亚洲最大授权展– 香港贸发局香港国际授权展(由香港贸易发展局举办)

亚洲最大玩具展– 香港贸发局香港玩具展(由香港贸易发展局举办)

亚洲最大美酒展– 香港贸发局香港国际美酒展(由香港贸易发展局举办)

 

编辑垂注:

有关2010年展览业对香港经济的整体贡献研究报告

展览业对香港经济的整体贡献研究报告由香港展览会议业协会委托KPMG Transaction Advisory Services Limited进行,由2004年开始,每两年一次就香港展览业对香港经济的整体贡献作出研究。

2010年 的研究报告由亚洲国际博览馆、香港会议展览中心、香港旅游发展局及香港贸易发展局资助进行,根据香港展览会议业协会、亚洲国际博览馆、香港会议展览中心、 香港旅游发展局所提供的数据,并参考与个别香港展览会议业协会会员的访问所得的资料进行分析。今次所采用的研究方法符合国际标准,与其他国家就展览业对本 土经济影响分析的原则一致。

 

香港展览会议业协会

香港展览会议业协会成立于一九九零年,旨在推广香港成为世界级展览及会议地点与商贸展览的亚洲基地。协会以代表展览业会员利益为大前提,​​团结业界,积极与政府、立法及法定机关、传媒及公共组织等就展览业于香港经济所扮演的角色,进行商讨。此外,协会亦提供各项培训课程,并负责搜集、分析及派发与展览业相关的信息及统计资料。协会现时会员,包括展览会主办机构、展览场馆管理公司、承办商、酒店及旅行社。

香港展览会议业协会是国际展览联盟和香港总商会的会员。

 

 

新闻界查询,请联络香港展览会议业协会 -协会经理

香港告士打道邮政信箱 28346

(852) 2558 1238

(852) 2558 3074

该 Email 地址已受到反垃圾邮件插件保护。要显示它需要在浏览器中启用 JavaScript。

http://www.exhibitions.org.hk